Survey

Several films disappointed at the Box Office this summer (2016). Which was the most surprising?


Alice Through the Looking Glass

Ben-Hur

The BFG

Ghostbusters

Ice Age: Collision Course

Independence Day: Resurgence

The Legend of Tarzan

Now You See Me 2

Pete's Dragon

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

Warcraft

X-Men: Apocalypse

Other











The Word of Mouth for The Golden Compass


poster
Total Entries: 10 Overall Rating:
Overall Recommendation Stars Total Votes Percent
Instant Classic: 1   10%
Really Good: 3   30%
OK: 1   10%
Bad: 0   0%
Really Bad: 3   30%
Among Worst Ever: 2   20%
Breakdown
Males Under 25
Males 25 and Over
Females Under 25
Females 25 and Over
Everyone
Stars
Percent
Percent
Percent
Percent
Percent
  0%   20%   0%   0%   10%
  33%   40%   0%   0%   30%
  33%   0%   0%   0%   10%
  0%   0%   0%   0%   0%
  0%   40%   0%   100%   30%
  33%   0%   100%   0%   20%
Category Averages
Action
Acting
Comedy
FX
Story



Post Your Rating for The Golden Compass



Nickname
Your Gender:
Male:
Female:
Your Age Group:
Under 25:
25 or Older:
Would you recommend this movie?
poster
Your Recommendation:
Instant Classic:
Really Good:
OK:
Bad:
Really Bad:
Among Worst Ever:
No comment,
I already voted
or I haven't seen it
Break it Down
Breakdown Ratings:
Acting:
Action:
Comedy:
Special Effects:
Story:

Post Your Review of The Golden Compass
Please use the board below to post your review and comments about The Golden Compass.

Report a problem or objectionable post here

comments powered by Disqus
Other Reviews for The Golden Compass
Total Entries : 15
Now showing entries 15 through 6
Post # 15
Date 7/3/2008 - 3:16 PM
Name lily8o
Rating:
Comments: And another thing,did you notice they released in around christmas? they want you to turn from god before christmas.i really respect everytone that say goood things about god:) thanks god,for making us:)
Post # 14
Date 7/3/2008 - 3:12 PM
Name lily8o
Rating:
Comments: First of all,this is the athiest version of narnia.i know there may be nothing about atheism in the movie,(wich there is,having the animals as your "gods" is one)but its bait.the movie is bait.there trick is,ok so the movies good and all.so this guy also makes books.they want you to buy the books hes made.and there athiest type books.i recomend everyone stays away from this movie!
Post # 13
Date 1/16/2008 - 1:56 PM
Name Fernester
Rating:
Comments: rx74259, I can tell by the way that you talk that you're just another fundamentalist retard, not even worth acknowledgment from peers. Do you want to know what the true evil in this world is? Organized religion. If you think somebody should be "forgiven" for having the ability of free thinking, then that's your shallow minded problem.
Post # 12
Breakdown
Acting
Action
Comedy
Effects
Story
Date 1/13/2008 - 10:31 PM
Name rbamen
Rating:
Comments: The movie follows the idea very well of how some organizations try to control society.
Post # 11
Date 1/12/2008 - 5:31 AM
Name rx74259
Rating:
Comments: hey fernester, glad you enjoyed it. that makes satan pleased with you. i can tell by the way you use the english language that you are REALLY intelligent. but you know what, it doesnt matter what this nation was built on because when you die only GOD will judge you! this is just a journey and people like you need to wake up andsee the big picture show not something idiotic like this move and the man that wrote the books. praise the lord! oh i am sorry, i bet i just offended you. TOO BAD!
Post # 10
Breakdown
Acting
Action
Comedy
Effects
Story
Date 1/4/2008 - 5:37 AM
Name Geezerthomo
Rating:
Comments: Having read the trilogy twice, this is a sorry interpretation of a thought provoking book and I nearly walked out it was so dull. Absolutely agree that anyone who hasn't read the book will get lost and frankly; given the amount of poetic licence used in the changing of the plot to sanitise the religous analogies and turn the grey world of Pullman into one of black and white, it might lose some book fans too. Don't waste your cash either way!
Post # 9
Breakdown
Acting
Action
Comedy
Effects
Story
Date 12/29/2007 - 9:43 PM
Name dgranger
Rating:
Comments: The acting and action was great. What brings the film down is that the story jumps around to much with out a flow that connects the scenes. The fact that the ending was chopped off from the film doesn't help ether. It should have ended where the book had ended. The religious controversy that surrounds this film really doesn't matter because the religious references are so well edited out of the story the viewer really needs to know the meaning of some rarely used words in order to figure out or get the references. A kid will not get them if the adult can't get it ether. The book is very plan on them while the film's story was almost cleaned of them.
Post # 8
Breakdown
Acting
Action
Comedy
Effects
Story
Date 12/19/2007 - 1:31 PM
Name renway
Rating:
Comments: This movie was very confusing from the start. The plot line was difficult to follow. There was little if any excitement to the movie. The end was very anti-climatic. After the movie ended the people in the theater just sat there in a dumb-founded state. There was a very uncomfortabe quiet (as if everyone was stunned by the realization that we had all just thrown our money away). I believe the only people who will benefit from this movie are the ones that have read the book and know the story line already. Don't waste your money on this one.
Post # 7
Date 12/17/2007 - 4:52 PM
Name Fernester
Rating:
Comments: To the jackass below me, this country was actually founded on the Constitution, in which, gives citizens the freedom of worship, and freedom of expression, which means that this movie, as well as the novel trilogy, were legally allowed to be made, and if you refuse to see the movie, or read the books, then shut the fuck up!
Post # 6
Date 12/17/2007 - 5:23 AM
Name nitwhits
Rating:
Comments: I am glad to see this movie get poor reviews. I will not see it, nor allow my children, as it pushes a story with an athiest view and a hate for God. Our country was founded on "In God We Trust" Those who do not agree shouldn't be writing books and making movies to change our culture. This is America and if you believe in God at all, please take this warning to heart.


Go To


The Golden Compass Stuff
[Poster ] [ Amazon DVD] [ Amazon Book]
Movies of 2007
Movie Overall Rating
Ratatouille
The Simpsons Movie
Live Free or Die Hard
American Gangster
There Will Be Blood
Juno
Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium
Michael Clayton
The Brave One
The Bourne Ultimatum
Spider-Man 3
Freedom Writers
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
I Am Legend
Atonement
Dan in Real Life
300
Enchanted
3:10 to Yuma
Hot Fuzz
Transformers
Shrek the Third
The Bucket List
Stephen King's The Mist
Perfect Stranger
TMNT
Reign Over Me
Primeval
Mr. Brooks
Zodiac
Reno 911!: Miami
Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer
Bridge to Terabithia
Ghost Rider
National Treasure: Book of Secrets
Superbad
Evan Almighty
Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married?
I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry
Fracture
The Number 23
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
Grindhouse
El Cantante
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
30 Days Of Night
Halloween
Disturbia
Ocean's Thirteen
Knocked Up
Vacancy
The Game Plan
Stardust
Alvin and the Chipmunks
Rush Hour 3
Shooter
Hairspray
Wild Hogs
Charlie Wilson's War
Hitman
P2
Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Across the Universe
Mr. Woodcock
Death Sentence
Daddy Day Camp
No Reservations
Delta Farce
The Reaping
Firehouse Dog
Are We Done Yet?
Pride
The Hills Have Eyes 2
Black Snake Moan
Amazing Grace
Tyler Perry's Daddy's Little Girls
The Messengers
Because I Said So
Code Name: The Cleaner
Aliens vs. Predator - Requiem
The Last Mimzy
Dead Silence
Smokin' Aces
Music and Lyrics
Resident Evil: Extinction
1408
No Country for Old Men
Beowulf
Breach
Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film for Theaters
Premonition
28 Weeks Later
Hannibal Rising
Blades of Glory
The Great Debaters
Bee Movie
Mr. Bean's Holiday
The Invasion
Arthur and the Invisibles
Hostel Part II
P.S. I Love You
The Perfect Holiday
Martian Child
Saw IV
Eastern Promises
Shoot 'Em Up
The Invisible
Catch and Release
Sicko
Georgia Rule
Pathfinder
The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep
Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story
Lions for Lambs
The Condemned
The Astronaut Farmer
The Golden Compass
Norbit
The Hitcher
Awake
Love in the Time of Cholera
Rendition
Dragon Wars
Balls of Fury
Hot Rod
Bratz
A Mighty Heart
In the Land of Women
Meet the Robinsons
Stomp the Yard
Happily N'Ever After
Alpha Dog
I Think I Love My Wife
Next
Epic Movie
Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas
Bug
I Know Who Killed Me
August Rush No Votes
This Christmas No Votes
Fred Claus No Votes
Gone Baby Gone No Votes
The Comebacks No Votes
The Final Season No Votes
We Own the Night No Votes
Feel the Noise No Votes
The Seeker: The Dark is Rising No Votes
The Heartbreak Kid No Votes
The Kingdom No Votes
Sydney White No Votes
Good Luck Chuck No Votes
War No Votes
The Nanny Diaries No Votes
Underdog No Votes
Who's Your Caddy? No Votes
License to Wed No Votes
Evening No Votes
Nancy Drew No Votes
Surf's Up No Votes
Gracie No Votes
Waitress No Votes
The Ex No Votes
Lucky You No Votes
Redline No Votes




Questions, Suggestions, Comments????