Survey

Several films disappointed at the Box Office this summer (2016). Which was the most surprising?


Alice Through the Looking Glass

Ben-Hur

The BFG

Ghostbusters

Ice Age: Collision Course

Independence Day: Resurgence

The Legend of Tarzan

Now You See Me 2

Pete's Dragon

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

Warcraft

X-Men: Apocalypse

Other











The Word of Mouth for The Manchurian Candidate


poster
Total Entries: 37 Overall Rating:
Overall Recommendation Stars Total Votes Percent
Instant Classic: 17   46%
Really Good: 6   16%
OK: 3   8%
Bad: 2   5%
Really Bad: 0   0%
Among Worst Ever: 9   24%
Breakdown
Males Under 25
Males 25 and Over
Females Under 25
Females 25 and Over
Everyone
Stars
Percent
Percent
Percent
Percent
Percent
  42%   38%   0%   33%   46%
  8%   31%   0%   33%   16%
  0%   8%   0%   0%   8%
  8%   8%   0%   0%   5%
  0%   0%   0%   0%   0%
  42%   15%   0%   33%   24%
Category Averages
Action
Acting
Comedy
FX
Story



Post Your Rating for The Manchurian Candidate



Nickname
Your Gender:
Male:
Female:
Your Age Group:
Under 25:
25 or Older:
Would you recommend this movie?
poster
Your Recommendation:
Instant Classic:
Really Good:
OK:
Bad:
Really Bad:
Among Worst Ever:
No comment,
I already voted
or I haven't seen it
Break it Down
Breakdown Ratings:
Acting:
Action:
Comedy:
Special Effects:
Story:

Post Your Review of The Manchurian Candidate
Please use the board below to post your review and comments about The Manchurian Candidate.

Report a problem or objectionable post here

comments powered by Disqus
Other Reviews for The Manchurian Candidate
Total Entries : 37
Now showing entries 37 through 28
Post # 37
Date 4/24/2006 - 11:32 PM
Name goddaan
Rating:
Comments: this movie was impeccably executed. after seeing it years ago i still enjoy reminiscing about the brainwashing scenes, hypotheses about what takes place in such hypnoses. watch closely the hypnotic memory scenes and you see the writers view that hypnosis is a progressive technique. these characters are progressively commanded to do worse and worse things, synchronized with their decreasing and decreasing strength, over time, to ward off such commands. eventually, they're robotic killers. the writers presentation of this is incredibly, enjoyably subtle. the acting is flawless and brilliant. denzel has an intensity never drifted away from. the hypnotists' voice sparkles. he's oddly extremely weird looking in profile, but good looking from frontal view. streeps' performance is magic, as if it's almost possible to agree with this villian. is it possible to have this happen in real life? i challenge you give me a reason why it couldn't work (generally; implants and hypnosis that cause people to do things like, uh, murder).
Post # 36
Date 1/7/2005 - 8:59 AM
Name Polished.
Rating:
Comments: I don't know why, but i was really hoping for a little more. despite a mediocre plot, the performances were superb. .
Post # 35
Date 12/17/2004 - 1:06 PM
Name ;l.
Rating:
Comments: .
Post # 34
Date 11/15/2004 - 4:25 PM
Name Poltra.
Rating:
Comments: Very good thriller from a great director. .
Post # 33
Date 9/21/2004 - 6:23 AM
Name Jeni.
Rating:
Comments: I think this movie should have been released later this year, maybe in november/december, because it wanted you to think. Most people go to the movies in the summer to get away and relax, not work their brains. That said, this is a good movie, not great. The story was a little weak, but excellent acting all round. I just wished that there were scenes with denzel & meryl, that would have been great. .
Post # 32
Date 9/17/2004 - 4:31 PM
Name win
Rating:
Comments: Ladies and gents we have a winner.
Post # 31
Breakdown
Acting
Action
No Rating
Comedy
No Rating
Effects
No Rating
Story
No Rating
Date 9/17/2004 - 2:15 PM
Name W4l.
Rating:
Comments: Denzel played a good as paraniod. Great storyline for a remake.
Post # 30
Date 9/14/2004 - 6:21 PM
Name H. Throb.
Rating:
Comments: It seemed like i was watching the 5th day of the dnc convention, do you suppose it was coincidental that this and "the village" (another movie whose message michael moore would love-in that opus it took them 2 hours to say what fdr said in one sentence, "the only thing we have to fear is fear itself") in this update, the hollywood left is trying to warn us feeble minded citizens against the dangers of re-electing bush /cheney. . . Meryl streep says she patterned his 'evil' role after republican females, director johnathan demme has issued statements indicating he hopes this movie has an effect on the fall election-- as far as the 'surprise' ending, any astute movie fan sees the 'twist' long before the finale, and knows who the real assassin is. . . . Hollywood doesn't even have the moxy to mention muslim extremists, instead here the bad guy is corporate america, big business, remind me again where we would be as a nation without big business? oh yeah a 3rd world country--hollywood makes billions of dollars, the stars demand millions for their roles, sounds a little like hypocrisy to me, this whole summer has been pretty much of a letdown, except for spiderman although i am holding out hope for "cellular"--did you know that as far as fahrenheit 911, it's been shown on prime time cuba tv, awarded by the france, endorsed by the terrorist group hezzbolah, the first american do#@&entary allowed into the country by the red chinese--did you know that that richard clarke who is quoted in the movie, called michael moore a liar--but hollywood doesn't let facts stand in their way, because they figure most people are gullible and can be brainwashed, pretty much as depicted in this disappointing effort, starring one of my favorite actors, remember the critics praising this flick did the same for fahrenheit 911--which has been arranged to be released on home video before the election!!! fyi< the 9 / 11 commission states that bush didn't lie about wmds, the british report agrees and president putin warned bush that saddam was inspired by the 9/11 attacks and planned similar attacks here in america.
Post # 29
Date 9/13/2004 - 11:46 AM
Name Sir drinksalot.
Rating:
Comments: The public has spoken and i have to agree with them. Believe the box office numbers because this movie was just horrible. Fake dramatic moments lead to a sloppy "hero" and is filled with no tension nor believablity .
Post # 28
Date 9/12/2004 - 8:26 PM
Name Churn this.
Rating:
Comments: Denzel spends a good part of this movie moping around like a sad refugee from a 70s war flick. (drinking and crying) the film is an overblown political snoozefest.


Go To


The Manchurian Candidate Stuff
[Poster ] [ Amazon DVD] [ Amazon Book]
Movies of 2004
Movie Overall Rating
The Passion of the Christ
Finding Neverland
Troy
The Punisher
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Shrek 2
I, Robot
The Bourne Supremacy
Saw
National Treasure
The Notebook
Ray
Hero
Spanglish
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Friday Night Lights
13 Going on 30
The Incredibles
Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events
Man on Fire
Closer
Team America: World Police
Walking Tall
Ladder 49
50 First Dates
Spider-Man 2
Raise Your Voice
Dawn of the Dead
Cellular
Shall We Dance?
The Polar Express
Alien Vs. Predator
Secret Window
Napoleon Dynamite
Resident Evil: Apocalypse
Wimbledon
Mean Girls
Meet the Fockers
Million Dollar Baby
The Manchurian Candidate
Alfie
Garden State
The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie
The Terminal
Without a Paddle
Collateral
Shaun of the Dead
Shark Tale
Ocean's Twelve
The Forgotten
New York Minute
Vanity Fair
Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
A Cinderella Story
Miracle
Fahrenheit 9/11
Hellboy
The Motorcycle Diaries
The Day After Tomorrow
Taxi
Little Black Book
Sleepover
Hidalgo
Blade: Trinity
Kill Bill Vol. 2
The Butterfly Effect
The Girl Next Door
In Good Company
Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle
The Prince & Me
Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
The Princess Diaries 2
Raising Helen
I Heart Huckabees
Mr. 3000
Garfield: The Movie
Home on the Range
First Daughter
DodgeBall: A True Underdog Story
Christmas with the Kranks
Around the World in 80 Days
King Arthur
Super Size Me
The Phantom of the Opera
The Chronicles of Riddick
Saved!
Sideways
After the Sunset
Flight of the Phoenix
Wicker Park
Eurotrip
Bobby Jones: Stroke of Genius
Starsky & Hutch
Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
Paparazzi
The Village
Van Helsing
Spartan
Yu-Gi-Oh!
Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen
Along Came Polly
Jersey Girl
Fat Albert
Surviving Christmas
The Stepford Wives
The Alamo
Barbershop 2: Back in Business
Taking Lives
Exorcist: The Beginning
Ella Enchanted
White Chicks
The Aviator
Catwoman
Anacondas: The Hunt for the Blood Orchid
The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
Two Brothers
Alexander
Chasing Liberty
Godsend
Catch That Kid
Laws of Attraction
The Last Shot
Super Babies: Baby Geniuses 2
The Whole Ten Yards
Never Die Alone
Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights
The Grudge
Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed
Woman, Thou Art Loosed
Teacher's Pet
Against the Ropes
Thunderbirds
Win a Date with Tad Hamilton!
Agent Cody Banks 2: Destination London
Broken Lizard's Club Dread
You Got Served
The Cookout
Torque
Soul Plane
The Ladykillers
Suspect Zero
Johnson Family Vacation
Seed of Chucky
Twisted
Open Water
The Big Bounce
Connie and Carla
My Baby's Daddy
The Perfect Score
Envy
Welcome to Mooseport
Breakin' All the Rules
Darkness




Questions, Suggestions, Comments????